A grand brand made in Austria

Discover a great corporation. Experience the golden tingle of Schlumberger from a new perspective.

  • 2014
    Austrian Tradition

    Austrian Tradition

    For a period of 41 years, Schlumberger formed part of the Underberg Group, a family owned business from Germany. In 2014, the Underberg Group sold its majority shareholding in Schlumberger Aktiengesellschaft (AG) to the Swiss holding company Sastre SA to become part of the portfolio owned by industrialist Dr Frederik Paulsen. The new majority shareholder is committed to the Austrian tradition and the deep-rootedness of Schlumberger AG in Austria.

  • 1973
    Four Generations

    Four Generations

    Four generations and two world wars later, the childless Robert Schlumberger – great grandson of the founder – sold his shareholding in the family winery to the Underberg Group from Germany, which is now in its 5th generation.

    Nowadays, the term Champagne is reserved for fine sparkling wines from the French wine region of the same name. Yet the perfection of the traditional method used in the production of Schlumberger still remains true to its name.

  • 1878
    Nobility

    Nobility

    The Vöslauer Sparkling became the prized beverage of the Viennese elite society. In 1878, Robert Alwin Schlumberger was officially knighted into nobility with the title “Edler von Goldeck”.

  • Red Wine

    Red Wine

    During the middle of the nineteenth century, Schlumberger became a pioneering producer of still red wine as well. Robert Schlumberger imported classic red grape varieties from abroad and was the first to plant these in Austria. In this field, he was the first to plant and cultivate the French noble grape varieties, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot, in Austria.

  • 1862
    Bad Vöslau

    Bad Vöslau

    Schlumberger leased vineyards on the “Goldeck in Maital” in the town of Bad Vöslau from the sovereign tithe cellar and thus founded his own company. Fame came at the 1862 London Exhibition, when Schlumberger’s “Sparkling Vöslauer” was served to Her Majesty the Queen. Back home in Vienna, Schlumberger’s “Champagner” became a beverage of royalty and subsequently Schlumberger became Purveyors to the K u. K. Imperial Court of Austria-Hungary.

  • Encounters

    Encounters

    One specific encounter that led to a turning point in Schlumberger’s life, was meeting the Viennese maiden Sophie Kirchner during a boat trip on the Rhine. It was the beginning of a love story and they were to wed. As Sophie’s parents were against their daughter moving to Germany, Robert agreed to follow her to live in Austria.

  • 1814
    Geburt

    Birth

    The history of the Schlumberger family company begins with Robert Alwin Schlumberger, who was born in Stuttgart in 1814. Following the untimely death of his father, Robert was forced to abandon his studies and to become a merchant. This brought him to the town of Reims in the region of Champagne in France, and to a position in the Ruinart Pere et Fils Champagne House. Here, he rose to chef de cave and production manager.

Eine große Österreichische Marke

Entdecken Sie ein großartiges Unternehmen. Erleben Sie das goldene Prickeln von Schlumberger aus einem neuen Blickwinkel.

  • 2014
    Österreichische Tradition

    Österreichische Tradition

    Nach 41 Jahren als Teil der Underberg-Gruppe zieht sich das deutsche Familienunternehmen als Hauptaktionär der Schlumberger Aktiengesellschaft zurück und übergibt das von ihr gehaltene Aktienpaket an die Schweizer Holdinggesellschaft Sastre SA rund um den Unternehmer Dr. Frederik Paulsen. Der neue Hauptaktionär bekennt sich zur österreichischen Tradition und der festen Verwurzelung des Unternehmens Schlumberger in Österreich.

  • 1973
    Vier Generationen

    Vier Generationen

    Vier Generationen und zwei Weltkriege später 1973 verkaufte der seinerseits kinderlose Robert Schlumberger, Urenkel des Gründers, die Kellerei schließlich an die Unternehmerfamilie Underberg, die ebenfalls ein Familienunternehmen in der nunmehr 5. Generation führt.

    Auch wenn der edle Tropfen sich nicht mehr Champagner nennt, die Methode der Herstellung ist bis heute die gleiche geblieben.

  • 1878
    Adelsstand

    Adelsstand

    Der Vöslauer Sparkling avancierte zum Lieblingsgetränk der Wiener Gesellschaft. 1878 wurde Robert Alwin Schlumberger mit dem Titel Edler von Goldeck in den Adelsstand erhoben.

  • Rotweinherstellung

    Rotweinherstellung

    Mitte des 19.Jahrhunderts hat das Sekthaus Schlumberger auch große Bedeutung als Rotwein Hersteller erlangt. Robert Schlumberger importierte einige rote Rebsorten und pflanzte diese erstmals in Österreich aus. In diesem Bereich gilt er als Pionier und kultivierte als Erster die französischen Rebsorten Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot in Österreich.

  • 1862
    Bad Vöslau

    Bad Vöslau

    Er pachtete vom herrschaftlichen Zehentkeller in Bad Vöslau Weingärten am sogenannten Goldeck im Maital und gründete sein eigenes Unternehmen. Im Rahmen der Weltausstellung 1862 in London schaffte es sein „Sparkling Vöslauer“ auf die Weinkarte der Königin. Auch in Wien wurde der Champagner zum „königlichen Getränk“: Schlumberger wurde zum k.u.k. Hoflieferanten.

  • Die Begegnung

    Die Begegnung

    Ein weiteres Erlebnis, das zu einer Wende in seinem Leben führte, war die Begegnung mit der Wienerin Sophie Kirchner bei einer Schifffahrt auf dem Rhein. Es war der Beginn einer Liebesgeschichte. Weil Sophies Eltern der Übersiedlung ihrer Tochter nicht zustimmten, folgte Robert ihr nach Österreich.

  • 1814
    Geburt

    Geburt

    Die Geschichte des Familienunternehmens Schlumberger beginnt mit Robert Alwin Schlumberger, geboren im Jahre 1814 in Stuttgart, der nach dem Tod seines Vaters sein Studium aufgeben musste und Kaufmann wurde. Diese Tätigkeit führte ihn nach Reims in Frankreich in die Champagnerkellerei Ruinart Pére et Fils, wo er bis zum Kellermeister und Produktionsleiter aufstieg.