Schlumberger is committed to the responsible consumption of alcohol. Are you of the legal drinking age in the country from where you are accessing this website?

General Information about Sekt

What is the distinction between Prosecco, Champagne and Frizzante?

“Prosecco” is a wine region of protected origin and refers to sparkling wines produced from the white Glera grape variety. Only those sparkling wines that are produced from grapes grown in the designated region of northern Italy may be referred to as Prosecco. Sparkling wines produced from the same variety, but from outside this designated wine region, have since been renamed as “Glera”.

“Frizzante” is the Italian term for lightly or semi-sparkling wine (of up to 2.5 bar pressure). By contrast, a “Sekt” sparkling wine must have at least 3 bar of pressure by law, in order to bear the name “Sekt”, which with traditional bottle fermentation often have an average of 5-6 bar pressure. Frizzante may also be produced by the carbonation method, by the addition of carbon dioxide (CO2) to still wine.

“Champagne” is primarily an indication of origin. The name Champagne may only be used to describe the beverage which originates from the Champagne region in France. The grapes need to grow and be processed in Champagne.
Only the following grape varieties are permitted for the production of Champagne: Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier (the latter having a mere 5% of the total vineyard area in Champagne). A Champagne must be produced in strict adherence to the Méthode Traditionnelle and must legally mature on the lees for a minimum of 12 months for non-vintage blends.

What do the terms brut or secco mean?

The terms refer to the style categories in regard to the different levels of dosage, which in turn are governed by the wine law in Europe. (3g / l tolerance is permitted for the label).

 

naturherb, brut nature max 3g/l
extra herb, extra brut, extra bruto between 0-6g/l
herb, brut, bruto max 12g/l
extra trocken, extra dry, extra secco     between 12-17g/l
trocken, sec, secco, asciutto, dry, secco between 17-32g/l
halbtrocken, demi sec, abboccato, medium dry, semi sec between 32-50g/l
mild, doux, dolce, sweet, dulce above 50g/l

Is there an expiration or “best before” date for Sekt?

If the Schlumberger bottle is stored correctly, we guarantee a shelf life of 2 ½ to 3 years with optimal storage (cool, protected from light and stood upright). Larger format bottles, such as the 3 litre jeroboam, can keep for about 4 – 5 years with the same level of quality. The bottle Sekt undergoes a natural aging process in the bottle, as is the case with all sparkling wines and Champagne available on the market. (Bottle age naturally leads to a development in taste, cloudiness or discoloration, as well as to a reduction in the dissolved carbon dioxide). The resulting maturation is a natural aging process and is by no means harmful to health. This is why Sekt, as with wine, does not display a “best before” date.

It is generally said that sparkling wines are released onto the market at maturity; an extensive maturation process has already occurred in the winery. Therefore, it is unlikely that the sparkling wine will improve with bottle age.

The quality level of a sparkling wine is dependent upon its time of disgorgement. Please note that the indication of a vintage date on a bottle refers to the date from which the grapes were harvested, and not the date of disgorgement.

How should Sekt be stored correctly?

The correct storage of Sekt bottles is as follows: stood upright in a cool and dry place, protected from light. If the Sekt bottle is not protected from light, it might take on a slightly unpleasant tainted taste following excess exposure to light.
Unlike still wine, the bottle of Sekt/sparkling wine should ideally be stored upright. The upper part of the cork closure consists of agglomerated cork and the section of the cork in contact with the Sekt is made up of two layers of natural cork. This form of cork does not require moisture or humidity (as achieved by storing bottles horizontally) because this pressed form of cork closure is completely air-tight.

What is the best temperature to serve Sekt?

The ideal temperature to serve Sekt and champagne is 6 - 8° Celsius. If the Sekt is served correctly, then you will experience and appreciate its true taste.
If the Sekt is served too chilled, then the aromas are muted and closed; by contrast, if the Sekt is served too warm, the taste seems weighty, less lively and unrefreshing.
Ideally refrigerate the bottle for at least 12 hours prior to opening. Then place the chilled bottle into an ice bowl filled with ice cubes and water for about half an hour before serving. Avoid rapid chilling in a shock-chiller or freezer whenever possible.

Are the Schlumberger Sekts also free or low in histamines?

Traces of histamine are found in all Sekt sparkling wines. However, scientific studies and journals have confirmed that Schlumberger products are suitable for people who have a form of histamine intolerance in the category “Sekt and Champagne”. Following intensive research and investigation, we have succeeded in perfecting the traditional method production to minimalize the histamine in our products. The following criteria are essential elements:

  • The exclusive use of selected grapes and excellent base wines for sparkling wine production
  • The use of a specially developed strain yeast
  • Ongoing strict quality control and highest hygiene standards throughout the production process

 The reduced levels of histamine is of no detriment to the bouquet, the aroma or taste.

Some Schlumberger bottles bear a vintage, such as Sparkling 2012. What does this mean?

The vintage declared on these Schlumberger bottles represents the year in which the grapes for the base wine were harvested. This is a clear quality criteria. The wine blend matures on the lees for a period of two to three years following the harvest, depending on which Schlumberger variety, to allow the full taste to develop. The vintage should not be confused with the best before date.

Information about the Production of Schlumberger Sekt Sparkling Wine

Schlumberger was once called Champagne. Why can it no longer be referred to as Champagne? Has anything changed in the production method?

Schlumberger has the same production method as Champagne and was called so until 1919. This ceased as a condition of the Treaty of St. Germain, and Champagne could only be carried on bottles of sparkling wines produced from grapes grown and processed in the Champagne region of France. The production method of Schlumberger Sekt remains unchanged and now the term “Méthode traditionnelle” (traditional method) has become the official name for Sekt produced using this method outside of the Champagne region (Champagne method or méthode champenoise).

What does the term “Österreichischer Sekt” mean on the labels of a bottle of Schlumberger?

The term “Österreichischer Sekt” – or literally Sekt from Austria – means that Schlumberger is a sparkling wine product from Austria:

  • Both the grapes and the wine originate from Austria (working closely with Austrian grape growers and winemakers)
  • The processing takes place in Austria (production sites in Vienna and Bad Vöslau)
  • The packaging, glass bottles, cases, labels, etc. are all supplied by Austrian companies. The only exception is the natural cork closure, which originates from Spain and Portugal.
  • The logistics partners are from Austria

How long does the Méthode Traditionalle production method take?

If we were to calculate the total time period and include the time invested in the vineyards during the grape growing period, then the total time around three to four years, depending on the Schlumberger product.

How can I identify the date when the Schlumberger bottle was disgorged to ascertain the age of the Sekt inside the bottle?

On the back label of every bottle of Schlumberger, you will find a printed lot number. e.g. L163317. The L stands for the LOT number, 16 = the year 2016, 33 is the calendar week and 17 refers to the day of the month, i.e. disgorged on 17th August 2016.

In which bottle sizes is Schlumberger produced?

Schlumberger bottles are available in the following formats:

  • 0.2 litre: Baby/Piccolo
  • 0.75 litre: Imperial
  • 1.5 litre: Magnum
  • 3 litre: Jeroboam
  • 6 litre: Methusalem

The standard 0.75L and 1.5L magnum bottles are riddled by hand. The smaller and larger formats are bottled by transferring the Sekt from 0.75L bottles.

Which yeasts are used in the production of Schlumberger?

For each variety of Sekt, we use the same strain of yeast. Schlumberger uses its own cultured yeast that originates from Champagne. Our patented yeast is now nurtured in Austria, multiplied and in also exported back to Champagne.

Wissenswertes zu Sekt allgemein

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Prosecco/Champagner/Frizzante?

„Prosecco“ ist ein Gebiet geschützten Ursprungs. Nur jene Produkte dürfen als Prosecco bezeichnet werden, die aus der Region im nördlichen Italien kommen. Früher war Prosecco eine Rebsortenbezeichnung, die mittlerweile aber in „Glera“ umbenannt worden ist.

„Frizzante“ ist die italienische Bezeichnung für Perlwein (bis 2,5 bar Druck). Ein Sekt muss gesetzlich mindestens 3 bar haben, um die Bezeichnung „Sekt“ tragen zu dürfen. (Zumeist haben die Produkte – v.a. jene mit traditioneller Flaschengärmethode – durchschnittlich 5-6 bar). Frizzante werden oftmals auch mit künstlich zugeführter Kohlensäure hergestellt.

„Champagner“ ist in erster Linie auch eine Herkunftsbezeichnung. Der Name „Champagner“ darf nur für Produkte verwendet werden, für die die Trauben in der Champagne heranwachsen und diese auch in der Champagne verarbeitet werden. Verwendete Rebsorten für Champagner: Chardonnay, Pinot Noir und Pinot Meunier (nur etwa 5% der Rebfläche in der Champagne). Ein Champagner muss ebenfalls nach der Méthode Traditionnelle hergestellt werden und gesetzlich mindestens 12 Monate auf der Hefe liegen.

Was bedeuten die Angaben wie "brut" oder "secco"?

Die Begriffe bezeichnen die Kategorien der unterschiedlichen Dosage-Mengen, welche wiederum europaweit weinrechtlich geregelt sind. (3g/l Toleranz in der Etikettierung zulässig).

 

naturherb, brut nature unter 3g/l
extra herb, extra brut, extra bruto zwischen 0-6g/l
herb, brut, bruto unter 12g/l
extra trocken, extra dry, extra secco zwischen 12-17g/l
trocken, sec, secco, asciutto, dry, secco zwischen 17-32g/l
halbtrocken, demi sec, abboccato, medium dry, semi sec zwischen 32-50g/l
mild, doux, dolce, sweet, dulce über 50g/l

Gibt es ein Haltbarkeitsdatum für Sekt?

Wir garantieren bei optimaler Lagerung (kühl, lichtgeschützt und stehend) eine Genusstauglichkeit bei 0,75L Flaschen von 2,5 - 3 Jahren, bei Flaschen in einer Größe von 3L ungefähr 4 - 5 Jahre ohne Qualitätsverlust. Darüber hinaus kommt es – wie bei allen am Markt erhältlichen Sekt Sorten und Champagnern - zu einem Alterungs-Reifeprozess. (Dies kann eine geschmackliche Beeinflussung, Trübung/Verfärbung, sowie zum Verlust der Kohlensäure des Sektes führen). Die entstehende Altersfirne ist ein natürlicher Alterungsprozess und NICHT gesundheitsschädigend. Daher hat Sekt wie auch Wein kein Ablaufdatum.

Generell gilt bei Sekt, dass die Lagerung beim Hersteller auf der Hefe erfolgt und ein Sekt nach Auslieferung mit Lagerung nicht besser wird.

Entscheidend für die zeitliche Dauer der Qualität eines prickelnden Produktes beim Endkonsumenten ist der Zeitpunkt des Degorgierens. Achtung! Die Jahrgangsangabe auf Sekt- und Champagnerflaschen bezeichnen den Erntejahrgang, nicht allerdings den Zeitpunkt des Degorgierens.

Wie wird Sekt am besten gelagert?

Für die richtige Lagerung von Sektflaschen gilt: stehend, trocken, kühl und lichtgeschützt. Falls der Sekt nicht lichtgeschützt ist, besteht die Gefahr binnen Wochen bei Lichteinfluss einen sogenannten unangenehmen „Lichtgeschmack“ zu bekommen.
Im Unterschied zu Wein soll Sekt stehend gelagert werden. Da der Naturkorken für den Sekt aus einem Presskorken sowie zwei Naturkorkscheiben besteht, hat dieser eine andere Beschaffenheit als der Weinkork. Der Sektkorken benötigt keine Feuchtigkeit/Befeuchtung (durch liegende Lagerung), da der gepresste Kork ohnedies luftdicht abschließt.

Die optimale Kühlung

Als Trinktemperatur werden 5-7°C bei weißem Sekt und 6-8°C bei Rosé Sekt empfohlen. Erst bei richtiger Trinktemperatur kommt der Geschmack des Sektes voll zur Geltung.
Wenn der Sekt zu kalt getrunken wird, ist er oft „verschlossen“. Ist der Sekt hingegen zu warm, erscheint er „schwerer“, und daher weniger lebhaft bzw. erfrischend.
Für einen optimalen Trinkgenuss wird die Flasche mindestens 12 Stunden lang im Kühlschrank gekühlt. Die so vorgekühlte Flasche vor dem geplanten Genuss idealerweise eine halbe Stunde lang in einen mit Eiswürfel und Wasser gefüllten Sektkühler stellen. Achtung! Kühlen in der Tiefkühltruhe ist zu vermeiden („Schock-Kühlung“).

Gibt es bei Schlumberger histaminfreien/-armen Sekt?

Es gibt kein Sektprodukt, das histaminfrei ist, da in jedem Sekt Spuren von Histamin zu finden sind. Wissenschaftliche Studien und die entsprechende Literatur bestätigen aber, dass im Bereich „Sekt und Champagner“ Produkte der Marke Schlumberger für Menschen mit  Histaminintoleranz tendenziell gut vertragen werden. Es ist uns gelungen die international angewandte „Méthode Traditionnelle“ nach intensiver Forschung zu perfektionieren und in den „sensiblen“ Bereichen wesentlich zu verfeinern. Folgende Kriterien sind dabei ein wesentlicher Schlüssel:

  • Die ausschließliche Verwendung ausgesuchter Trauben und exzellente Grundweine für die Sektproduktion
  • Die Verwendung einer speziell entwickelten Reinzuchthefe
  • Laufende strenge Qualitätskontrollen und höchste Hygienestandards im gesamten Produktionsprozess

Manche Schlumberger Flaschen tragen eine Jahrgangsbezeichnung, zB. Sparkling 2012. Was bedeutet diese?

Die Jahreszahl auf Schlumberger Flaschen steht für den Jahrgang der Grundweine.
Sie bedeutet, dass die Trauben in diesem Jahrgang geerntet wurden und ist ein klares Qualitätsmerkmal.
Nach der Ernte reift die Cuvée – je nach Produktsorte – noch 2 bis 3 Jahre auf der Hefe um den vollen Geschmack zu entfalten.
Die Jahreszahl ist somit nicht mit einem Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum zu verwechseln.

Wissenswertes zur Sektherstellung von Schlumberger

Warum wird Schlumberger nicht mehr als Champagner bezeichnet? Hat sich bei der Herstellungsmethode etwas geändert?

Schlumberger hat die gleiche Herstellungsmethode wie Champagner und hat bis 1919 auch "Champagner" geheißen. Seit dem Friedensvertrag von St. Germain ist dies nicht mehr erlaubt. Nur mehr Schaumweine, für die die Trauben aus der Champagne in der Champagne verarbeitet wurden, düfen als "Champagner" bezeichnet werden. Die Herstellungsmethode hat sich bei Schlumberger nicht geändert. Die Bezeichnung „Méthode Traditionnelle“ ist die offizielle Bezeichnung für Sekt Produkte, die nach der Champagner-Methode (Méthode Champenoise) hergestellt wurden, aber nicht aus der Champagne stammen.

Was bedeutet die die Bezeichnung „Österreichischer Sekt“ auf den Etiketten von Schlumberger?

Die Bezeichnung „Österreichischer Sekt“ bedeutet, dass Schlumberger ein rein österreichisches Produkt ist:

  • Sowohl die Trauben, als auch der Wein, stammen aus Österreich, durch die Zusammenarbeit mit heimischen Partnerwinzern.
  • Die Verarbeitung findet in Österreich statt in den Produktionsstandorten Bad Vöslau und Wien.
  • Die diversen Bestandteile des Produkts kommen auch aus Österreich: Glas, Karton, Etiketten etc.  - einzige Ausnahme sind die Naturkorken, diese stammen aus Spanien und Portugal, da es keine Korkeichen in Österreich gibt
  • Die Logistikpartner stammen auch aus Österreich

Wie lange dauert die Herstellung nach der Méthode Traditionnelle?

Rechnet man die Arbeit unserer Partnerwinzer im Weingarten mit, dann beträgt die Gesamtzeit der Herstellung eines Schlumberger Produktes nach der Méthode Traditionnelle je nach Produkt ca. 3-4 Jahre.

Woran erkennt man das Alter des Sekts bzw. wann die Flasche degorgiert wurde?

Bei den Flaschen aus dem Hause Schlumberger findet sich eine Losnummer am Rückenetikett. z.B. L134427. 13 steht für das Jahr, 44 für die Kalenderwoche und 27 für den Tag im Monat.

In welcher Gebindegröße wird Schlumberger produziert?

Schlumberger Flaschen sind erhältlich in den Größen:

  • 0,2 Liter: Baby/Piccolo
  • 0,75 Liter: Imperial
  • 1,5 Liter: Magnum
  • 3 Liter: Jeroboam
  • 6 Liter: Methusalem

Die Flaschen 0,75L und 1,5L Magnum werden gerüttelt. Die restlichen Flaschen werden nach dem Degorgieren aus der 0,75L-Flasche umgefüllt.

Welche Hefe wird für die Herstellung der Schlumberger Produkte verwendet?

Für jede Schlumberger Sorte wird der gleiche Hefestamm verwendet. Schlumberger verwendet eine eigene Reinzuchthefe - ursprünglich aus der Champagne. Diese wird mittlerweile in Österreich gezüchtet, vermehrt und zum Teil auch in die Champagne geliefert.